Ta2ati2d's Weblog

Catching up | December 14, 2008

Okay, yes it’s been a while…a long while.

What’s happened this year?  Well, left NJ and my working life in Wall Street due to a friend who turned out to not be a very good one.  He had me crash out on the couch, where I slept for about a month.  Tensions ran high, and both his mother and brother and he decided they’d had enough.  So I moved out in a rush to Philadelphia.  Bridesburg, which is NorthEast Philly, is a dump!  Nothing but tweaked out skanks and junkie pimps.

Went through a few jobs, met a guy I like a lot, worked as an usher at The Mann Center for Performing Arts (saw Mark Knopfler, Sheryl Crow, James Blunt, Toot & The Maytalls, The Gipsy Kings, Robert Plant and Alison Krauss, Ani DiFranco, Regina Specktor, Ben Folds, R.E. M., George Throrogood) while working at The Rittenhouse Hotel via Randstad, a temp agency that blatantly lies and falsely advertises jobs that don’t exist on their front glass wall.  So after they yanked me out of The Rittenhouse after nearly three months (curious as to how I get pulled before that particular anniversary, when health benefits would become a possibility), I go from job to job to job.

Worked as a representative for The Clean Water Act, where they dump you in the middle of small towns and have you canvas the area completely on your own, at night time, with no partner to back you up for the sake of protection.  Worked for Applebee’s in Center City – that was a joke!

Worked for another temp agency, another complete con.

Got a couple of new tattoos in the meantime.

Worked for a good guy, an amateur astronomer, working trade shows, so I got to spend time with him in California, New York State (on my birthday, which was cool), and North Carolina.  Music brought us together, and I’m hoping I get to hold on to his friendship, because it means a lot to me.  I’m scared I’m going to screw it up, but I don’t know where the brakes are on The Crazy Bus.

He helped me get a job with an events security company, which has let me see concerts not only for free, but getting paid for it! I was 6 feet under Bruce Springsteen (“Springsteen” the woman shrieks, sounding like a 13-year-old swooning girl) and I didn’t even have to be dead! Saw Jay-Z, Mary J Blige, T.I., T-Pain, The Hooters, Ludacris, Keyshia Cole, Maxwell, Jazmine Sullivan, Robin Thicke, Bob Weir and Ratdog.  Got to work the World Series.

From there, my favourite supervisor has let me work specifically for her in another events company where it’s been sports games at Villanova.  She also let me see Tina Turner perform live.  Let me repeat that….TINA bleeding TURNER!!!

And now I’m on my way back to NYC…working 3 days a week for a CPA firm.  I’ll be moving into Brooklyn in the new year.  I’ll have my real life back.

And I’m never going back to Phucadelphia ever again!

Not everything has sucked about this year, but I’ve had enough negative experiences, like getting attacked at night by some prat throwing a boulder of a rock at my back, getting money stolen from me, etc etc etc…to know I don’t want to spend any more time here than absolutely necessary.

So that’s it for the most part. Met some nice people, met a lot of not-so-nice thieving bastards (don’t bank with PNC) got in a lot of great entertainment, got some scientific education and a profound enjoyment of Albert Einstein merchandise.  Made some friends I hope I get to hold onto…we’ll see.

2008 has been quite the year.  We’ll see how 2009 fares.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    December 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

    Top Clicks

    • None
